Understanding Your Texas Car Accident Report
If you or somebody you care about has been injured in an accident caused by the actions of another driver, it is crucial for you to understand your Texas car accident report. The accident report is going to be used by the insurance carriers to help determine liability and compensation. Additionally, the accident report will also be used as evidence in the event your case goes to trial. Speak to a Laredo injury lawyer to learn more today!
Do All Accidents in Texas Need to be Reported
Just about every vehicle accident that occurs in Texas must be reported to the police. State law requires that drivers report the crash to the police if there is:
- An injury
- A Death
- Property damage over $1,000
It is fairly clear that the incident will need to be reported if an injury or death occurs at the scene of the incident, but it can be harder to judge whether or not an incident caused at least $1,000 in property damage. The reality is that even a relatively minor incident, such as a fender bender, can result in the threshold amount of property damage required for the incident to be reported. It is better to be on the safe side and report a vehicle accident to law enforcement officials.
Individuals have 10 days to report the vehicle accident if a law enforcement officer does not come to the scene of the incident. The form where you can fill out the crash report is available online at the Texas Department of Transportation website.
What Goes Into the Accident Report?
The accident report filled out by police officers will have a variety of types of information. This includes:
- The date, time, and location of the crash
- Description of the vehicles involved
- The name, address, and phone number of the drivers involved
- Whether seatbelts were used in the incident
- Any information about drug or alcohol impairment
- The make, model, and body of the vehicles
- Vehicle identification numbers
- Insurance carrier names and policy numbers of the drivers
- Information about any injuries or deaths that occurred in the incident
- Information about charges filed against any driver or individual at the scene
There will also be a section on the accident report for a narrative of the incident as well as a diagram that will be roughly drawn to give a general idea of the accident scene.
In the event there was a commercial vehicle involved, including a larger truck or passenger bus, these details will be recorded on page two of the accident form. Accidents involving commercial vehicles will require more information, including the name of the company that owns the vehicle, the type of cargo being carried, and the vehicle’s weight. Law enforcement officials will need to gather driver information, including their license class and any required permits.
Working With an Attorney
If you or somebody you care about has been injured or sustained property damage in a vehicle accident in Texas, we encourage you to reach out to an attorney as soon as possible. A Laredo accident lawyer will be able to get involved very quickly and help uncover all evidence needed to prove liability. Just because law enforcement officials fill out an accident report does not necessarily mean that they got all of the details correct. Evidence from the scene and evidence gathered in the weeks that follow could contradict what is in the accident report and shift liability to another party.